Ponderings

Snow! When Everything Has New Perspective

As I woke on Thursday morning this week past, everything around me had a taken a new hue. The sillouettes of my normal view were visible, but the details were missing.

I’ve often thought that snowy scenes offer some kind of magic; but these last few days I realised that their beauty comes from hiding the familiar edges of what I know and offering a renewed perspective.

It can be so easy to slip in to feeling like life is a bit dreary, dull and monotonous; to be honest there have been many moments when I’ve felt like this. Today, however I realised that sometimes this comes only because we focus so much on the minor, insignificant details that we miss the outlines of our lives.

If I’m honest I forget that each day I have the privilege of being able to read and write, running water, a beautiful home, a car, family- I could go on. The reality is I am so familiar with these things that they take a back seat quite often and the stresses and strains of work, busyness of life and worry take precedence.

The snow however afforded me the joy of going for an impromptu walk; discovery of a deserted, snowy, children’s park; watching a duck skim along a river and listening to birds sing. I suddenly noticed the pops of colour that are so easily lost in my normal observations. The vantage of my locality covered in snow also highlighted the colour that’s normally missed. I also managed to work on a crochet project and to top it all off I had an enormous amount of time with my loved ones. For me, that’s the magic of snow.

I guess my biggest perspective shift is to understand the sillouettes of my life are consistent; but they’re not going to be looking like this forever. What will I do to make sure that I don’t miss the joys of life around me in my everyday? How will I see the beauty and listen to the melodies of life more clearly -even without the snow?

I think it would be wise to make a concerted effort to disconnect from the hustle and bustle of life and remember to shift perspective; embrace the here and now and see the precious things in life today.

The snow is an inconvenience for sure, but it’s also a pace-changer. What has the snow revealed for you and what will you do to help you to recall this in a few weeks time? Comment below, I’d love to know your thoughts.

I’m hoping to write again soon; the intention is to write as inspiration strikes. If you’d like to follow me to read the next update, click follow below.

2 thoughts on “Snow! When Everything Has New Perspective”

Leave a comment